Equity Grievance Panel for Title IX

An Equity Grievance Panel is convened when necessary to hear complaints of sexual harassment under Title IX.

The panel consists of four members; three voting members and one non-voting chair. The chair is responsible for directing the proceedings according to policy, evaluating relevancy of questioning, and keeping order in the proceedings. The voting panelists will hear the proceedings, ask direct questions of the parties, and be the decision makers at the conclusion of the hearing.

Panelists are chosen from a pool of faculty and staff who have been nominated by their supervisors to serve. When employees of the University are involved as a party to the proceedings, the panel will be chaired by the Director of Human Resources or their designee. Panelists and Chairs undergo an intensive, two-day training annually on the logistics of panels, cross-examination, relevancy, credibility, and equity. Parties to the hearing have an opportunity to object to any panelist if a confirmed conflict of interest can be shown.

2020-21 Members

Audrey Blair, Director of Human Resources
Sara Fredricksen, HR Generalist
Christopher Waugh, Dean of Students
Jason Richter, Director of Student Engagement
Brian Thiessen, Sports Information Director
Brett Billman, Communications
Grant Tietjen, Sociology and Criminal Justice
Keri Manning, History
Jim Stangle, VP of Advancement
Johny Augustine, Social Work
Brittany Tullis, Spanish and Latinx Studies
Julie Haack, Director of Financial Aid
Darci Becker, Speech-Language Pathology
Michael Dahlinghaus, Kinesiology
Karen Eden, Graduate Admissions
Carrie Meador-Bliss, Physical Therapy
David Baker, Communications

So, what's next?

Are you ready to take the next step? Click on the visit button below to learn more about our virtual and in-person visit options.